House of the Beehives

David Coll

Dusan Bogdanovic
Canticles for Two Guitars

Maurice Ravel
Sonata for Violin and Cello

Melody Eötvös
House of the Beehives

Sebastian Currier
Broken Consort for Flute, Oboe, Violin, Cello, 2 Guitars

Come explore some of the most mesmerizing music of the past hundred years.

Melody Eötvösʼ vibrant House of the Beehives, inspired by the Italo Calvino story of the same name, is the winner of our 2016 Composition Contest. We present it alongside duos by Ravel, Bogdanovic, and David Coll, with Sebastian Currierʼs sextet, Broken Consorts; his music was heralded as "lyrical, colorful, firmly rooted in tradition, but absolutely new" by The Washington Post.

Doors open an hour before concerts. Open seating. 

photo credit: honeycomb

The Hillside Club
2286 Cedar Street, Berkeley
Saturday, February 4, 2017 7:30PM 

SF Conservatory of Music
50 Oak Street, San Francisco
Monday, February 6, 2017 7:30PM

Melody Eötvös, LCCE composition contest winner

Melody Eötvös, LCCE composition contest winner