Air from Other Planets

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – String Quartet in C Major, K. 465 “The Dissonance Quartet”

Arnold Schoenberg – String Quartet #2

John Schott Movement for Viola and Guitar (Eye Contact) for guitar and viola WORLD PREMIERE

Jamie Leigh SampsonWaving Goodbye for guitar, voice, and string quartet WORLD PREMIERE

Schoenberg's Second String Quartet, an exquisite work from 1908, broke new ground in a variety of ways. The most striking innovation is the addition of a soprano for the last two movements. The texts are Stefan George's poems "Litany," about faltering faith, and "Rapture," about transcendence, which begins "I feel air from another planet." To explore how Schoenberg was influenced by Mozart, one of his favorite composers, we're pairing the work with the C Major String Quartet, K. 465. Complementing these masterworks are newly commissioned pieces from Jamie Leigh Sampson and John Schott.

Join us early at 7:05pm for a riveting pre-concert talk with MTheo, former host of KUSF’s classics without walls.

Open seating. 


Michael Goldberg, guitar
Nikki Einfeld, soprano
Anna Presler, violin
Liana Berube, violin
Phyllis Kamrin, viola
Tanya Tomkins, cello

Berkeley Hillside Club
2286 Cedar St, Berkeley [directions]
Saturday, November 2, 2019, 7:30 PM

SF Conservatory of Music
50 Oak Street, San Francisco [directions]
Monday, November 4, 2019, 7:30 PM


Subscribe and Save!
Subscribers receive the best prices on concert tickets, among other perks!

Press for Air from Other Planets . . .

Preview in East Bay Express’s “Fall Arts Picks”

Preview in Stephen Smoliar’s The Rehearsal Studio

Screen Shot 2019-10-11 at 10.58.08 AM.png

View and download our Press Release.